Home » Workshops & Events » Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting

Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting

The First Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting “Science and Mankind Progress” in St Petersburg was held in 2003. It was followed by the Second St Petersburg Meeting “Science and Society” in 2005. St Petersburg Scientific Forum “Science and Society. Research and Education in Nanotechnology” — the Third Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting — took place on June 22–27, 2008 and St Petersburg Scientific Forum “Science and Society. Informational Technologies” — the Fourth Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting — was held on September 21–25, 2009. The fifth Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting “Science and Society. Economics and Sociology in the 21st century” took place in St Petersburg on October 18–22, 2010. The theme of the last year’s 2011 Forum was Physiology and Medicine of the 21st Century and it was held on September 19–23.
The main topics of 2012 Forum — the seventh Nobel Prize Laureates Meeting are:

  • Energy of the Future
  • Astrophysics
  • Molecular Biology and Medicine
  • Information Technologies
  • New Materials and Nanotechnologies
  • Economics in the 21st Century: New Challenges and Prospects

This Forum is initiated by Saint Petersburg Government and Saint Petersburg Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences
Nobel Prize Laureates as well as prominent Russian and foreign scientists were invited to take part in the Forum. The ones that have already confirmed their attendance are: Robert Wilson (Nobel Prize in Physics 1978 “for the discovery of cosmic microwave background radiation”, Alan Heeger (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2000, “for the discovery and development of conductive polymers”), Brian Josephson (Nobel Prize in Physics 1973, “for his theoretical predictions of the properties of a supercurrent through a tunnel barrier”), Carlo Rubbia (Nobel Prize in Physics 1984, “for the decisive contribution to the large project which led to the discovery of the field particles W and Z, communicators of weak interaction”), Edmund Phelps (Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences 2006, “for his analysis of intertemporal tradeoffs in macroeconomic policy”), Robert Kahn (A.M. Turing Award Laureate 2004, the most prestigious award in the field of high technologies).